Do you use Instagram collections? This feature, launched in 2017, allows you to save and group Instagram posts in various categories, in the purest Pinterest style. Until today, collections were a private category, so only their creators could access them, via the Collections tab. “Was”, because Instagram has updated the feature to allow us to create collections with our friends.
Instagram has announced on its Twitter account the launch of “collaborative collections”, an improvement of the collections with which we will be able to create categories of publications together with our friends. Collaborative collections will be another option, allowing us to save our publications privately as before.
According to its help section, to create a collaborative collection we only have to click on the bookmark symbol that appears below the publications. Once we select the publication we want to save, we must select the “New collection” option and write a name. Then, we will have to enable the option “Allow my friends to join the collection”, select the people with whom we will share the collection (250 maximum) and click on Save.
But that’s not all: we can also create a collaborative collection from a chat. Those collections that we include in group chats can be viewed and edited by anyone in the chat. However, once users leave or are expelled from the group, they will completely lose access to the collaborative collections in that chat.
It is also important to note that private collections that have already been created cannot be shared and collaborative collections cannot be made private. Also, if you add a post from a private account to a collaborative collection, only those who follow that account will be able to see it.
Some of the links added in the article are part of affiliate campaigns and may represent benefits for Softonic.