Disable the desktop cleanup wizard in Windows

Disable the desktop cleanup wizard in Windows

At some point during our lives as Windows users, we all end up getting this message:

Disable the desktop cleanup wizard in Windows

Yes, it’s the famous desktop cleanup wizard! I don’t know about you, but I personally find this feature pretty irritating. Seriously, I’m old enough to know which icons I use and which I don’t. Plus I think I have the right to keep as many of them as I want on my desktop, whether I use them or not.

So I decided to search for a solution and finally came up with a simple trick to disable the desktop cleanup wizard in Windows. Simply open the desktop Properties menu by right clicking anywhere on your desktop, go to the Desktop tab and click on the Customize Desktop button. You’ll open another window where, among other stuff, you’ll find this option: “Run Desktop Cleanup Wizard every 60 days“. Simply remove the tick beside it and you’re done.

  • Link Copied!
Loading comments