WhatsApp may suspend the accounts of users who have been blocked on the app by their numerous users. This basically means that if a particular user gets blocked several times by multiple people, their account may be temporarily suspended.
Using this method, the Facebook-owned company is able to discover the troublesome users and punish them in a way that stops them bothering other users.
This process will not be automatic, and the user in question will receive notice prior to their suspension to warn them of their misconduct.
If users are being blocked by several other users, they will receive this warning:
It is not currently know how many warnings the user has to receive in order to be permanently blocked from using the service, however this is sure to be a strong incentive for users not to abuse the messenger service.